The Difference Machine

Unmasking the Spirit Fakers (FP022)

Regular price $8.00
Who are the spirit fakers? What do they want? These are just two of the many questions posed by The Difference Machine on their 3rd full length album, 'Unmasking the Spirit Fakers'.

Loosely based on an essay by the master magician himself, Harry Houdini, 'Unmasking the Spirit Fakers' finds the Atlanta-based psychedelic hip hop outfit examining the motives and practices of those who attempt to provide cure-alls and treatments for spiritual ills. Are they gurus or snake oil salesmen? Though abstract in their approach, The Difference Machine attempts to pin down these answers for the listener via a vast backdrop rich with dense lyricism and mind-bending production. Songs like 'Repeater' and 'Flat Circles' place them in the role of shaman whereas songs like 'Car Key' and 'It Ain't' venture to ask if they themselves are the spirit fakers in question.

Regardless of what role the ensemble assumes, the album was crafted with the human psyche in mind. Poignant guest appearances from hip hop heavyweights such as Sa-Roc (Rhymesayers), Quelle Chris (Mello Music Group), Homeboy Sandman, Denmark Vessey, Dillon & Sum add more colors to the canvas. The only wish of The Difference Machine is that the listener is both entertained and enlightened by this auditory adventure. They hope whatever conclusion you come to will be through honesty and sincerity.

Perhaps one day we will all be unmasked.


released June 28, 2022

All tracks produced by Dr. Conspiracy with additional production by Day Tripper except "Atlantis" produced by Chris Hunt and "The Joint (Remix)" produced by Threepeeoh.

All lyrics and vocals by Day Tripper, except where otherwise noted.

All scratches by Day Tripper.

"A New World Intro" features guitar by Cyrus Shahmir and bass by Gage Gilmore.

"Repeater" features guitar by Cyrus Shahmir and additional lyrics/vocals by Sa-Roc.

"Car Key" is co-produced by Yamin Semali, features bass by Gage Gilmore, and additional lyrics/vocals by Denmark Vessey.

"The Joint" features additional lyrics/vocals by Dillon.

"Pulling Capers" features drums by Radley Fricker and additional lyrics/vocals by Homeboy Sandman.

"It Ain't" features guitar by Ian Newberry and additional vocals by Jenn Beierle.

"Re Up" features drums by Radley Fricker and additional lyrics/vocals by Quelle Chris.

"New World" features guitar by Cyrus Shahmir, drums by Radley
Fricker, bass by Gage Gilmore, additional lyrics/vocals by Sum, and additional programming by Chris Hunt.

All tracks recorded by Mike Mosca at Headspace Sound.

All tracks mixed by Threepeeoh except "Atlantis," "New World," and "A New World Intro" mixed by Chris Hunt.

Mastered by Yamin Semali.
Mastered for vinyl by Batsauce.

Album art by Dr. Conspiracy. Layout by Brannon Boyle.

Fearless leading by Brannon Boyle. Special thanks to Radley Fricker, Adam Venable, Asha Lakra, Chris Hunt, Sa-Roc, Homeboy Sandman, Denmark Vessey, Dillon Maurer, Sum, Jenn Beierle, Gage Gilmore, Ian Newberry, Mike Mosca, Britt Teusink, Colin Mulligan, Ross Holter, Taylor Wynn, Britt Traynham, and Yamin Semali. Paten Locke Forever. Super special thanks to Shana Klingler, Jaszmyn Butler and Crissy Fricker. And super super special thanks to all the Machines. Next album will be here in about an hour.

©2022 FULL PLATE. All Rights Reserved. FP022